White Sox Get Youkilis, Stewart & Lillibridge on the Move…

While today was Sunday and most people were off enjoying their weekend, I was working as I normally do. Let me rephrase that, I was doing what I love to do!

Early this morning I was preparing my game notes and putting together a player page on Charlotte’s scheduled starter for tonight’s game — Zach Stewart. I did a lot of research on Stewart, making sure I had good information on him in today’s notes since it was his first start of the season with the Knights. Stewart reported to Charlotte on Thursday after being optioned down by the Sox earlier in the week.

On Thursday, I made sure to introduce myself and I even got him interviewed by WCNC. After Thursday’s game, Stewart and the Knights were set to hit the road for a 12-game road trip beginning on Friday. While the righty appeared in one-game with the Knights in 2011, his 2012 Knights career was just set to begin — right?

Well, before Stewart ever got to make his 2012 Knights debut, however, he was scratched from the lineup on Sunday. Scheduled to start game three of the four-game series with Rochester, Stewart was replaced by reliever Deunte Heath.

Later, we all learned that he was part of a trade to get 3B Kevin Youkilis from the Boston Red Sox. Stewart, along with former Knights infielder Brent Lillibridge, were officially sent to Boston in exchange for “Youk”.  The White Sox added a valuable piece to their squad on Sunday.

With that, I would like to take a moment to wish both former Knights much success in their new organization.

Leave a Reply

