SoxFest: White Sox Pay Respects to Mr. Cub

The game of baseball lost an icon on Friday night. Ernie Banks, Mr. Cub, passed away at the age of 83. Banks was a true ambassador of the game. White Sox Chairman Jerry Reinsdorf, along with White Sox legend Minnie Minoso, and White Sox television analyst Steve Stone, all spoke about Banks to the media on Saturday. I’m glad I attended.

White Sox Chairman Jerry Reinsdorf spoke to the media on Saturday.

White Sox Chairman Jerry Reinsdorf spoke to the media on Saturday about the passing of Mr. Cub, Ernie Banks.

Jerry Reinsdorf; “When you talk about Ernie, you have to smile,” Reinsdorf said. “He was always in a great mood. I never heard him complain about anything. He was always upbeat. He always had a wisecrack. I know he was Mr. Cub, but he was really Mr. Baseball. He was really a great, great ambassador for the game.”

Steve Stone: “I’ve never heard anybody say, ‘I don’t like Ernie Banks,'” Stone said. “It’s like saying you don’t like Santa Claus. How can you not like Ernie Banks? He was one of the most lovable human beings that our game has ever produced, and he never lost that childlike enthusiasm that we see from the youngsters but we tend to lose as adults.”

Minnie Minoso: “The city belonged to him,” Minoso said. “Everywhere you move, they just not talk about him like a ballplayer. They talk about him like a person. That’s the more important thing. I don’t think I’ll be able to explain to you what I think about him. I don’t have the words to put together to express what I feel about him.”

Leave a Reply

